Situated along Fifth Street in the Historic Downtown of East Liverpool, The Sturgis House B&B offers plush hospitality with quick access to nearby museums and dining. Our elegant three-story bed and breakfast offers charming accommodations impeccably decorated in timeless Victorian tradition giving you a feeling of luxury and hospitality. [quaint, charming, relaxing] The Sturgis House is a restored Victorian mansion originally built by the Erlanger family at the turn of the century. The residence eventually became the funeral home operation of the late E.G. Sturgis. It was at this location that a young Frank A. Dawson, working as a funeral director for Mr. Sturgis, embalmed and shipped the remains of Charles Arthur "Pretty Boy" Floyd to Salisaw, Oklahoma. Floyd, public enemy number one, was gunned down on the outskirts of East Liverpool, October 22, 1934. Mr. Sturgis died in December 1934, at which time Mr. Dawson acquired the operating company, eventually moving it to 215 West Fifth Street in 1939.
The Sturgis House had many occupants for the next fifty years until Mr. Dawson's son, Frank C. Dawson, and his family acquired the facility in 1993. The building was ready for its first guests on the July Fourth weekend of 1998 when a contingent of visitors from Stoke-On-Trent, England, stayed during the East Liverpool High School All-Class Reunion. Each of the six bedrooms in the house is named in honor of the towns that comprise Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley, Burslem, Longton, Fenton, Tunstall and Stoke City). The Stoke heritage is deep in East Liverpool history because so many ancestors of the City's families came here from that section of Great Britain to build the pottery industry for which we are renowned.
In 2022, current owner Carrie Ann Williams purchased the property to continue its B&B operations. Mrs. Williams was one of the first guests of the Sturgis House in 1998. As a bridesmaid in her cousin's wedding, the entire bridal party got ready and took photos at the house before heading to the church down the street. Together with her husband, Mrs. Williams looks forward to welcoming guests to the Sturgis House and the City of East Liverpool.
Guests should note, all of our sleeping rooms are on the second and third floors with access only by stairs.